New district church team for Church of England

Master Deanery logo.jpg

A new district team of Anglican Vicars and lay-church members has been sworn in at a recent meeting of the Midsomer Norton Deanery Synod.

The Synod, which covers 18 parishes across the Somer Valley area, meets several times a year to oversee and guide the activities of the Church of England in our area.

Revd Matthew Street, Leader of the St J’s Group of parishes; Peasedown St John, Wellow; and Foxcote with Shoscombe, has been named as the area’s new Rural Dean.

The Rural Dean has the important responsible of facilitating Christian Mission & Outreach, and supporting the work of other clergy.

Matthew commented: “I’m grateful to my peers for their support and look forward to fulfilling the duties of Rural Dean of the Midsomer Norton Deanery with the upmost dedication.

The Church of England across our local towns and villages works extremely hard to provide practical and spiritual support to anyone who asks for it. We run children’s groups, coffee mornings, counselling services and support a range of community-led projects.”

In March, the Bishop of Taunton, Bishop Ruth Worsley visited Peasedown St John where the new group of 9 people were commissioned as the Midsomer Norton Deanery’s new leadership team:

·     Lay Chair, Lucy Barnes (Priston)

·     Deputy Lay Chair, Mary Dolman (Timsbury)

·     Treasurer, Barrymore Dando (Westfield)

·     Secretary, Jane Street (Peasedown St John)

·     Lay Member, Nigel Wood (Stratton on the Fosse)

·     Lay Member, Gwen Sales (Paulton)

·     Rural Dean, Matthew Street (Peasedown St John)

·     Deputy Rural Dean, Christopher Chiplin (Midsomer Norton)

·     Deputy Rural Dean, Clarissa Cridland (Coleford and Holcombe)